The Republic of Tanzania

 tanzania flag

 Emblem of Tanzania

Tanzania has within its borders, or shares, many of the African great lakes: Lake Victoria, Lake Tanganyika, Lake Malawi, Lake Rukwa, Lake Eyasi, Lake Manyara, Lake Natron, etc. Tanzania is bordered on the east by the Indian Ocean and has the famous islands of the Zanzibar Archipelago (Unguja and Pemba) as well as Mafia Island. Several volcanoes in the northern part of the country are parts of the unique geography of Tanzania:Mount Kilimanjaro, the highest peak of Africa at 5, 895 metres above sea level; active volcano Ol Donyo L'engai; Mount Meru ...
Tanzania devotes a significant part of its territory to wildlife conservation including: 12 National Parks: the most famous are Serengeti (14,500 km ²), Tarangire, Lake Manyara, Mikumi and Ruaha. 
  • The protected area surrounding Ngorongoro Crater has a unique status as Ngorongoro Conservation Area
  • Game reserves: Selous Game Reserve (54,000 km ²)
  • Forest Reserve
  • Marine Reserve
  • WMA (Wildlife Management Area) 

More than a third of Tanzania is devoted to the protection of animal and plant species.

    National Currency Uhuru na Umoja (Freedom and Unity)
    Official Languages Kiswahili, English
    Capital Dodoma
    Area (km ²) 945,087
    People (2007 Census) 39,384,223 inhabitants
    Density 41.7 inhabitants / square km ²
    Currency Tanzanian Shilling (Tz shs)
    Time zone UTC +3

Discover More